Book Review: How to Read Literature Like a Professor, Thomas C. Foster

Thomas C. Foster’s How to Read Literature Like a Professor is the first book I downloaded when I bought my new Kindle a few weeks ago. Although I expected that I would probably be familiar with a lot of the content, since I’m well-versed in the analysis of literature, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I learned a few tips and tricks that I hadn’t previously considered.

Foster writes clear, concise prose with a conversational tone. This book is geared towards readers that enjoy literature, but lack the formal education to analyze it to the full extent. However, Foster doesn’t speak down to his audience at any point in the text; he feels like the sort of professor who encourages you to stay and chat after class about the texts, because he’s excited about what he does. His style works very well in this regard, because although I don’t fit the target audience exactly, reading the book felt like an engaging and eye-opening discussion with someone who shares my passion, if not necessarily my opinions. I feel as if I’ve gained a great refresher, and broadened my knowledge base to boot. I would recommend Foster’s book for the novice and expert alike.

Leave a Reply

